Uncategorized

Self love

Last weekend, I went out to celebrate an engagement. Despite my initial knee jerk reaction to hide in bed and have an early night (parenting does that to you 😴😴😴😴) I gave myself a talking to, made an effort to have a shower and actually do my hair, and went to be social. And boy am I glad I did!! I had the most wonderful evening! Chatting to friends, who some I haven’t seen in years, and it wasn’t once awkward or stilted, but that may have had something to do with the free prosecco that was flowing a little too easily!!  

I was reminded of the woman I was pre children, the woman I still am today, but she quietly takes a back seat whilst I do the most important job I’ll ever do, taking care of my girls, being a mum.

Being a parent is the most rewarding job in the world, but it is also the most consuming and overwhelming. Sometimes I can be so busy, I realise I haven’t eaten yet, or I frequently put off having a shower purely because I don’t have the time. But it is so important to look after yourself. The grass is greener where you water it. In other words, if I have looked after myself, I am better and more able to be a better mother. More Mary Poppins and less the Incredible Hulk. Although after the 100th time of being asked the same question inside 5 minutes, the Hulk needs serious control!!!!

I went out and enjoyed myself. I didn’t feel guilty about it one bit. I received comments and lapped them up. Perticularly on my hair, which I refrained from replying that’s it’s actually because I’d washed and blow dried it. It hadn’t been that long had it?!

Jokes aside, I’m so glad I went. Not only to congratulate my friends on their commitment to each other, but because I feel I can give my all to the other aspects in my life, be a better mother, wife, friend. Please please don’t neglect yourself. Self love is not narcissistic or self indulgent, it’s imperative. So next time you feel like turning down a social event, whether it’s a daytime coffee or full blown night out, accept it, your inner self will thank you for it 💗

2 thoughts on “Self love

  1. Awww lovely write up Alicia, had to giggle, n say welcome to my world lol hope I did as good a job as u guys are doing xxxxxx

    Like

Leave a Reply

